Site Reliability Engineering Foundation® (SREF) Certification Training

Course 3694

  • Duration: 2 days
  • Exam Voucher: Yes
  • Language: English
  • 8 DevOps Institute Continuing Education Units
  • Level: Foundation

The Site Reliability Engineering Foundation® (SREF) Certification Training introduces the principles and practices that enable an organization to scale critical services reliably and economically. Introducing a site-reliability dimension requires organizational re-alignment, a new focus on engineering & automation, and adopting a range of new working paradigms.

The course highlights the evolution of SRE and its future direction. It equips participants with the practices, methods, and tools to engage people across the organization involved in reliability and stability evidenced using real-life scenarios and case stories. Upon completion of the course, participants will have tangible takeaways to leverage when back in the office, such as understanding, setting, and tracking Service Level Objectives (SLOs).

SRE Foundation Training Delivery Methods

  • In-Person

  • Online

SRE Foundation Class Information

In this SRE Foundation class, you will learn how to:

  • The history of SRE and its emergence at Google
  • The inter-relationship of SRE with DevOps and other popular frameworks
  • The underlying principles behind SRE
  • Service Level Objectives (SLOs) and their user focus
  • Service Level Indicators (SLIs) and the modern monitoring landscape
  • Error budgets and the associated error budget policies
  • Toil and its effect on an organization’s productivity
  • Some practical steps that can help to eliminate toil
  • Observability is something to indicate the health of a service
  • SRE tools, automation techniques, and the importance of security
  • Anti-fragility, our approach to failure, and failure testing
  • The organizational impact that introducing SRE brings

SRE Foundation Prerequisites

There are no required prerequisites, but we recommend students understand and know common DevOps terminology and concepts and related work experience.

SRE Foundation Exam Information 

This course positions learners to successfully complete the SRE Foundation certification exam.

Successfully passing (65%) the 60-minute examination, consisting of 40 multiple-choice questions, leads to the SRE (Site Reliability Engineering) Foundation certificate. The certification is governed and maintained by the DevOps Institute.

  • Anyone starting or leading a move toward increased reliability
  • Anyone interested in modern IT (Information Technology) leadership and organizational change approaches
  • Job Roles: Business Managers, Business Stakeholders, Change Agents, Consultants, DevOps Practitioners, IT Directors/Managers/Team Leads, Product Owners, Scrum Masters, Software Engineers, Site Reliability Engineers, System Integrators, Tool Providers

SRE Foundation Certification Training Outline

  • Course Goals
  • Course Agenda
  • What is Site Reliability Engineering?
  • SRE & DevOps: What is the Difference?
  • SRE Principles & Practices
  • Service Level Objectives (SLOs)
  • Error Budgets
  • Error Budget Policies
  • What is Toil?
  • Why is Toil Bad?
  • Doing Something About Toil
  • Service Level Indicators (SLIs)
  • Monitoring
  • Observability
  • Automation Defined
  • Automation Focus
  • Hierarchy of Automation Types
  • Secure Automation
  • Automation Tools
  • Why Learn from Failure
  • Benefits of Anti-Fragility
  • Shifting the Organizational Balance
  • Why Organizations Embrace SRE
  • Patterns for SRE Adoption
  • On-Call Necessities
  • Blameless Post-Mortems
  • SRE & Scale
  • SRE & Other Frameworks
  • The Future
  • Additional Sources of Information
  • Exam Requirements, Question Weighting, and Terminology List
  • Sample Exam Review

Need Help Finding The Right Training Solution?

Our training advisors are here for you.

SRE Foundation Class FAQs

Yes, all DevOps Institute exams are open book.

No, once earned, your DOI (DevOps Institute) certification is evergreen.

There are no required prerequisites.

DevOps Institute certifications expire two years from the date earned and must be renewed before that expiration date. For an individual’s first DevOps Institute certification, 30 CEUs are required to maintain an active certification.  For individuals who hold more than one DevOps Institute certification, an additional 6 CEUs will be required for each additional certification. 
Learning Tree offers a variety of DOI CEU-eligible training to help you maintain your certification. View the list of DOI CEU-eligible training courses.

Chat With Us